PayJar
US

Minimum wage by state, 2026

Not sure your hourly rate is legal, or why your check says $2.13 an hour? Here’s the minimum wage and the tipped cash wage in all 50 states, DC and under federal law.

In effect on November 4, 2026

Federal minimum$7.25Tipped cash wage: $2.13
Highest$18.40District of Columbia
States at $7.2520No minimum of their own, or one of $7.25 or less
No tip credit7Tipped workers get the full minimum

Minimum wage increases in 2027

Increases already set by law or announced by the state.
StateFromMinimum wageTipped cash wage
ArizonaJan 1$15.15 → $15.65$12.15 → $12.65
CaliforniaJan 1$16.90 → $17.40$17.40no tip credit
ColoradoJan 1$15.16 → $15.71$12.14 → $12.69
ConnecticutJan 1$16.94 → $17.48$6.38no change
MaineJan 1$15.10 → $15.70$7.55 → $7.85
MichiganJan 1$13.73 → $15.00$5.49 → $6.30
MinnesotaJan 1$11.41 → $11.87$11.87no tip credit
MontanaJan 1$10.85 → $11.20$11.20no tip credit
NebraskaJan 1$15.00 → $15.26$2.13no change
New JerseyJan 1$15.92 → $16.48$6.05 → $6.61
OhioJan 1$11.00 → $11.40$5.50 → $5.70
Rhode IslandJan 1$16.00 → $17.00$3.89no change
South DakotaJan 1$11.85 → $12.30$5.93 → $6.15
VirginiaJan 1$12.77 → $13.75$2.13no change
WashingtonJan 1$17.13 → $17.73$17.73no tip credit
AlaskaJul 1$14.00 → $15.00$15.00no tip credit
Hourly rates in effect on November 4, 2026. Tip credit = minimum wage − tipped cash wage. Per month: 40 hours a week at the minimum wage, before tax (a year’s pay divided by 12).
StateMinimum wageTipped cash wageMax tip creditPer month
Federal$7.25$2.13$5.12$1,256.67
Alabama$7.25$2.13$5.12$1,256.67
Alaska$14.00$15.00 on Jul 1$14.00no tip credit—$2,426.67
Arizona$15.15$15.65 on Jan 1$12.15$3.00$2,626.00
Arkansas$11.00$2.63$8.37$1,906.67
California$16.90$17.40 on Jan 1$16.90no tip credit—$2,929.33
Colorado$15.16$15.71 on Jan 1$12.14$3.02$2,627.73
Connecticut$16.94$17.48 on Jan 1$6.38$10.56$2,936.27
Delaware$15.00$2.23$12.77$2,600.00
District of Columbia$18.40$10.30$8.10$3,189.33
Florida$15.00$11.98$3.02$2,600.00
Georgia$7.25$2.13$5.12$1,256.67
Hawaii$16.00$14.75$1.25$2,773.33
Idaho$7.25$3.35$3.90$1,256.67
Illinois$15.00$9.00$6.00$2,600.00
Indiana$7.25$2.13$5.12$1,256.67
Iowa$7.25$4.35$2.90$1,256.67
Kansas$7.25$2.13$5.12$1,256.67
Kentucky$7.25$2.13$5.12$1,256.67
Louisiana$7.25$2.13$5.12$1,256.67
Maine$15.10$15.70 on Jan 1$7.55$7.55$2,617.33
Maryland$15.00$3.63$11.37$2,600.00
Massachusetts$15.00$6.75$8.25$2,600.00
Michigan$13.73$15.00 on Jan 1$5.49$8.24$2,379.87
Minnesota$11.41$11.87 on Jan 1$11.41no tip credit—$1,977.73
Mississippi$7.25$2.13$5.12$1,256.67
Missouri$15.00$7.50$7.50$2,600.00
Montana$10.85$11.20 on Jan 1$10.85no tip credit—$1,880.67
Nebraska$15.00$15.26 on Jan 1$2.13$12.87$2,600.00
Nevada$12.00$12.00no tip credit—$2,080.00
New Hampshire$7.25$3.27$3.98$1,256.67
New Jersey$15.92$16.48 on Jan 1$6.05$9.87$2,759.47
New Mexico$12.00$3.00$9.00$2,080.00
New York$17.00$11.35$5.65$2,946.67
North Carolina$7.25$2.13$5.12$1,256.67
North Dakota$7.25$4.86$2.39$1,256.67
Ohio$11.00$11.40 on Jan 1$5.50$5.50$1,906.67
Oklahoma$7.25$2.13$5.12$1,256.67
Oregon$16.80$16.80no tip credit—$2,912.00
Pennsylvania$7.25$2.83$4.42$1,256.67
Rhode Island$16.00$17.00 on Jan 1$3.89$12.11$2,773.33
South Carolina$7.25$2.13$5.12$1,256.67
South Dakota$11.85$12.30 on Jan 1$5.93$5.92$2,054.00
Tennessee$7.25$2.13$5.12$1,256.67
Texas$7.25$2.13$5.12$1,256.67
Utah$7.25$2.13$5.12$1,256.67
Vermont$14.42$7.21$7.21$2,499.47
Virginia$12.77$13.75 on Jan 1$2.13$10.64$2,213.47
Washington$17.13$17.73 on Jan 1$17.13no tip credit—$2,969.20
West Virginia$8.75$2.63$6.12$1,516.67
Wisconsin$7.25$2.33$4.92$1,256.67
Wyoming$7.25$2.13$5.12$1,256.67

How to read this table

  • Minimum wage: the lowest hourly rate an employer can pay. Where a state has no minimum, or a lower one, the federal $7.25 applies.
  • Tipped cash wage: the lowest hourly wage for tipped workers, as long as wages plus tips for the week reach the minimum wage for every hour worked. The gap between the two is the tip credit.
  • Where a rate depends on employer size or region, the table uses the highest general rate, and the state page explains the others.

Questions

What is the federal minimum wage in 2026?
$7.25 an hour. Tipped workers can be paid $2.13 an hour if their wages plus tips for the week reach $7.25 for every hour worked. It applies wherever a state has no minimum wage or a lower one.
Which state has the highest minimum wage?
The District of Columbia pays $18.40 an hour. Among the states, the highest are Washington ($17.13), New York ($17.00) and Connecticut ($16.94).
Which states don’t allow a tip credit?
Alaska, California, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, Oregon and Washington. There, tipped workers get the full minimum wage before tips.
Which states use the federal $7.25?
Alabama, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Wisconsin and Wyoming: they have no minimum wage of their own, or theirs is $7.25 or less.
Do cities have a higher minimum wage?
Yes, in some states. This table shows statewide rates; each state page mentions the local minimums we know of.

General information, not legal advice. Your state labor department has the final word, and some cities, counties and industries have higher minimums.

Sources

Checked against each state’s labor department (links on each state page).

Stop wondering if your check is right.

PayJar knows your state’s minimum wage and tipped wage. Log your shifts and tips, and it tells you when a week comes up short.